How do you clean up (grind and polish) your green prints?

I’m reading in the enclosed instruction books that a “sewn buff, and Zam” are recommended but I can’t find a “sewn buff” unless it’s talking about the pad itself.

I can’t imagine that the whole polishing process would be sufficient with only one compound though. I would assume that sewn buff could mean grits from 80 or so to the zam polishing grit but I have no idea or experience with this.

I would love to learn all the steps that anyone here goes through to take a green part and polish it up for debinding and sintering!

I’ve never tried a green print polish before (always worried of breaking my piece before sintering). Would be interested as well in other’s results and process

Hey Drew,
Sewn buff is like this: https://www.amazon.com/Buffing-Polishing-Muslin-Dremel-Rotary/dp/B07M78YG3L/ref=sr_1_27?dchild=1&keywords=dremel+tool+polishing&qid=1608575376&sr=8-27

You’d use it with the polishing compound (zam) and a rotary tool.

Oh- so just a felt wheel? Nice! Yeah, I wasn’t familiar with that colloquialism.

So from green part off the printer, do you smooth it out with something else first (like if there is a stringer or rough patch on the print)? Like with a 120 grit attachment on the dremel or something before using the zam?

What have you done after sintering Mr. Highball?

I’ve used a rotary tool, ultrasonic cleaner and am trying a rock tumbler as I type this

Oh wow!! That will be very interesting.

Yeah, I’d say a rotary tool will give you the best detail preservation for sure at least. A tumbler would tend to smooth prints and I would think eliminate places of fine detail.

Either way I just got back from the hardware store with my dremel tools and will probably print squares to test with before I do any model test prints but yeah! Super exciting regardless!

Wait, can you post pictures of the results of each of your methods so I could see??

What do each of the methods do specifically?